Over 30 Years of Outstanding Film & Television Music + Much More!
Music From The How To Train Your Dragon Trilogy

Featuring 14 exhilarating themes from John Powell’s scores, performed by London Music Works.

Based on Cressida Cowell’s popular children’s book, set in a mystical Viking world, the animated trilogy follows the story of teenager Hiccup, and dragon Toothless. Aspiring to be a dragon slayer, Hiccup captures his first dragon, but instead of killing Toothless, he befriends him. This rousing epic mixes comedy, touching moments and action sequences and John Powell’s masterful score perfectly complements it. The trilogy proved to be both a critical and commercial success, grossing $1.6 billion worldwide.

In How To Train Your Dragon series, John Powell relies on the tradition of Wagnerian leitmotifs. The themes representing different characters, concepts and locations are spread across the trilogy and are varied and developed, orchestrated in different ways. Often, the tempos and moods change and the themes play in counterpoint to one another.

John Powell has scored several excellent animated films before the How To Train Your Dragon series, including Antz, Chicken Run, Shrek, Kung-Fu Panda, and the Ice Age. With How To Train Your Dragon series Powell earned his first Academy Award nomination and his third BAFTA nomination. The score also won the IFMCA 2011 Awards for Best Original Score for an Animated Feature and Film Score of the Year.

On this album, London Music Works skilfully brings together a selection of the very best themes from Powell’s consummate and game-changing animation score.
Sci-Fi Online review 10/10
“This compilation has been thoroughly researched by someone at Silva Screen Records who not only loves Powell’s music, but also has an incredible ear for structuring a compilation album. This flows incredibly well, with one track seamlessly following on from the next as though they were originally designed to work this way.

London Music Works do an incredible job of pretty much representing the original score. The recording is as professional as the original recordings.”

1. This is Berk (From “How to Train Your Dragon”)
2. Forbidden Friendship (From “How to Train Your Dragon”)
3. Test Drive (From “How to Train Your Dragon”)
4. Romantic Flight (From “How to Train Your Dragon”)
5. Coming Back Around (From “How to Train Your Dragon”)
6. Dragon Racing (From “How to Train Your Dragon 2”)
7. Flying with Mother (From “How to Train Your Dragon 2”)
8. Hiccup and Valka (From “How to Train Your Dragon 2”)
9. Stoicks Ship (From “How to Train Your Dragon 2”)
10. Toothless Found (From “How to Train Your Dragon 2”)
11. Two New Alphas (From “How to Train Your Dragon 2”)
12. Legend Has It Cliffside Playtime (From “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”)
13. As Long As He’s Safe (From “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”)
14. Once There Were Dragons (From “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”)